Speaker of the Parliament Mohamed Aslam has confirmed the MPs of the 20th Parliament will take their oaths of office on the 28th of May.

The Speaker confirmed this while speaking at the parliamentary session held today. Aslam said the Parliament is making arrangements for the oath-taking ceremony scheduled for next month.

Speaker Asalam said the 19th Parliament's current term will end on the 15th of May and it will hold its last session on the 13th of next month. He added that the parliamentary work should continue till then.

The Speaker congratulated the newly-elected MPs of the 20th Parliament and highlighted the names of the MPs from the 19th Parliament who managed to retain their seats for the 20th Parliament.

The MPs who retain a seat in the parliament include MP for South Galolhu Constituency Meekail Ahmed Naseem, MP for Hanimaadhoo Constituency Abdul Ghafoor Moosa, MP for Vaikaradhoo Constituency Hussain Ziyad, MP for Eydhafushi Constituency Ahmed Saleem, MP for Thulusdhoo Constituency Ibrahim Naseem, MP for Mathiveri Constituency Hassan Zareer, MP for Maamigili Constituency Gasim Ibrahim, MP for Mahibadhoo Constituency Ahmed Thoriq, MP for Dhagethi Constituency Mohamed Nazim, MP for Meedhoo Constituency Ahmed Siyam, and MP for South Hithadhoo Constituency Ibrahim Nazil.

The ruling PNC claimed 67 out of the 93 seats in the 20th Parliament in the Election held on Sunday and the main opposition party MDP won only 12 seats.