MP for Maafannu Uthuru constituency Imthiyaz Fahmy has been reinstated on the Parliament's Committee on Oversight of the Security Forces.

Vice Speaker of the Parliament and MP for Galolhu uthuru constituency Eva Abdullah announced his reinstatement at the parliamentary sitting today.

She said that MP Imthiyaz was reinstated to the committee dubbed '241 Committee, after MP for Hulhudhoo constituency Ilyas Labeeb, had resigned as a member of the committee.

Following his resignation from the committee, MP Ilyas had given his statement to the parliamentary inquiry spearheaded by the Committee to investigate the security breach that led to the attack against the speaker of the parliament Mohamed Nasheed last month.

MP Imthiyaz had taken part in that closed-door meeting.

The MP had been a staunch critic of the parliamentary inquiry and had several occasions accused that the President and the government had influenced the inquiry.

Both the chair of the 241 Committee and President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih had denied these accusations.