Speaker of the Parliament Mohamed Nasheed has announced the names of the 14 MPs who signed the parliament's attendance sheet today but failed to attend the session.

The 6th session of the third term of the Parliament was scheduled to start at 09:00 a.m. today but was being delayed because of the lack of quorum.

Many MPs from MDP decided to boycott today's session as the Parliament agenda included the motion calling on the government to expedite efforts to take back parts of the country's waters it had ceased control of.

Speaking at the session today, Speaker Nasheed noted that many MDP MPs who came for the session were in the Parliament premises and requested them to join the session.

However since the MPs did not join the session, Speaker Nasheed said that he could not continue with the session and that there was no problem with the agenda.

Nasheed further said that many MPs had signed the attendance sheet and not entered the chamber for the session.

The MPs include MDP PG Leader MP for Hithadhoo North Constituency Mohamed Aslam.

The Speaker said that he would try to hold the session and gave the MPs two-time slots as the session has to recess for lunch at 12:30 p.m. He said that he would try again at 12:00 p.m. and then again at 1:00 p.m.

But the MPs fail to join the session at these times and the session for today did not go on.