The Pakistani Government has revealed the details of foreign gifts retained by public office holders — presidents, prime ministers, federal cabinet members, politicians, bureaucrats, retired generals, judges, and journalists from 2002 to 2022.

Under Pakistani law, priceless gifts offered to rulers, lawmakers, bureaucrats, military personnel, and other officials by the heads of other states, governments, and international dignitaries must be handed over to a department under the Cabinet Division called Toshakhana.

As per the details reported by the Pakistani government, those who retained gifts include several former Presidents and Prime Ministers as well as sitting Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif and President Dr. Arif Alvi.

Others who benefitted from the Toshakhana gifts include former prime minister Imran Khan, ex-prime minister Nawaz Sharif, ex-president Asif Ali Zardari, late military dictator Pervez Musharraf, former premier Shaukat Aziz, ex-PM Yousuf Raza Gilani, ex-PM Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, ex-PM Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, and ex-PM Zafarullah Khan Jamali.

Former Pakistani PM Nawaz Sharif also retained gifts/Photo: AFP

Zardari and Nawaz Sharif received one bulletproof vehicle each during their visits and retained these vehicles after paying some money to the Toshakhana.

Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan and his wife received five precious wristwatches, ornaments, and other items.

Pervez Musharraf and Shaukat Aziz retained hundreds of foreign gifts without paying a penny.

In return for the gifts received from foreign dignitaries, these public office holders, especially the rulers, gave away gifts worth millions of rupees to the foreign delegates.