A no-confidence motion has been submitted to the parliament against Deputy Speaker of the Parliament Eva Abdullah.

The motion was submitted to the parliament with signs from 50 parliamentarians following her decision to leave the ruling MDP to form a new political party named, 'The Democrats.

A motion to dismiss the Deputy Speaker of the Parliament can only be submitted to the parliament with the sign from one-fourth of the MPs. This number comes down to 22 out of the 87 MPs elected to the parliament.

The Deputy Speaker said before that she would neither resign from the parliament nor take on a huge political burden to maintain her post.

Eva is one of the 12 MPs who left MDP last week to form the new party which stems from MDP President and Speaker of the Parliament Mohamed Nasheed's faction, 'Fikurege Dhirun'.

He formed this faction after losing the party's Presidential primary to President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih earlier this year.